19 Aug
2023
19 Aug
'23
7:34 a.m.
Thanks Eugen for the explanation. To summarize what I understood: - delete from GUI simply does a drain+destroy; - destroy will preserve the OSD id so that it will be used by the next OSD that will be created on that host; - purge will remove everything, and the next OSD that will be created will use a brand new id.
Unless something has changed in recent releases, there are some nuances: Destroying an OSD leaves the OSD ID in the CRUSH map; it may be redeployed with the same ID when done so explicitly (ideally on the same device/slot). That ID will not unless I’m mistaken be used by any new OSD deployment unless specified explicitly. In the general case, OSD creation picks the lowest-numbered unused ID.